Uasin Gishu MCAs approve the purchase of controversial Ksh 670m National Bank Building amid bribery claims

Uasin Gishu MCAs approve controversial purchase of national bank Building

Members of Uasin Gishu County Assembly have controversially approved the purchase of the Building housing National Bank in Eldoret for Kes 670 million.

The approval lays to rest a year-long protracted battle between Uasin Governor Jackson Mandago and members of the county assembly that has been marred by vested interest, kickbacks and bribery allegations.

The approval follows behind the scene lobbying to have the controversial purchase that has attracted the attention of EACC passed.

Sources report that Mandago was last night holed up in a meeting at a popular town hotel with some members of the county assembly to push for the approval. Sources privy to the meeting say each MCA was given Ksh 200, 000.

It was not surprising that the county assembly by majority on Thursday morning approved the purchase of building earmarked to house members of the county executive (CECs).

In June 2019, the MCAs had unilaterally rejected the purchase citing inflated cost.

The county under the leadership of Governor Mandago is said to have inflated the cost of the Building to Sh 670 million which is double the valuer’s cost of Ksh 300 million.

Critics have also questioned why the county should spend such an amount when it can build a modern building at less cost.

The cost of the Ksh 670m dilapidated building is a ripoff compared with Alfred Mutua’s White House which was contructed for Ksh 350 milllion in record 9 months.

White house: Machakos County governor’s office

According to the assembly hansard only 8 MCAs opposed while 31 overwhelmingly approved.

On record out of 40 members who were present, the following voted against the decision.

1. Hon Patrick Bundotich-Tarakwa
2. Hon Muya Mwangi-Langas
3. Hon Gilbert Tenai- Cheptiret/kipchamo
4. Hon Philip Melly- Moisbridge
5. Hon Edwin Maraswo-Simat Kapseret
6. Hon Samuel Choge- Tapsagoi
7. Hon. Mary Goretti Boroswo- Nominated
8. Hon Joel Rugut- Kipsomba Ward

The following Members Supported.
1. Hon Josphat Lowoi- Karuna
2. Hon Amos Kiptanui- Racecourse
3. Hon David Singoei- Ngenyilel
4. Hon David Keitany-Sirgoik
5. Hon Sarah Malel-Kimumu
6. Hon Jonathan Ngetich-Kaptagat
7. Hon Pius kigen- Tembelio
8. Hon Noah Kemboi-Moiben
9. Hon Chomba – Huruma
9.Hon Ramadhan – Kiplombe
10. Hon Nicholas Lelei- Kamagut
11. Hon Tallam- Soy
12. Hon David Tarus-Kapkures
13. Hon Chemalan-Ngeria
14. Hon Julius Sang-Megun
15. Hon Julius Songok-Tulwet Chuiyat
16. Hon Jenny Too-Nominated
17. Hon Misoi- Nominated
18. Hon Catherine-Nominated
19. Hon Alice Nominated
20. Hon Kesumo Nominated
21. Hon Zipporah Nominated
22. Hon Belinda- Nominated
23. Hon Menjo -Nominated
24. Hon Salina-Nominated
25. Hon Samora-Nominated
26. Hon Eileen-Nominated
27. Hon Hillary-Kipkenyo Ward
28. Hon Joan -Nominated
29. Hon Gilbert Bett-Kuinet
30. Hon Korir -Ziwa Ward
31. Hon Kirwa-Kapsoya



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here